December Daily Countdown: T Minus One

A couple months ago, a scrapbook friend of mine asked if I would like to be part of a project she was organizing.  Each participant was to create a handmade album with the theme of:  25 Days of December, aka “December Dailies”.  This is not a new idea, many before us have done it and done it very nicely if I may say so.  I’ve done summer journals for years now and know what goes into committing to journal/scrapbook every day for a set period of time.  But during the mad rush of Christmas?  What was I thinking?  I agree, I’m always up for a challenge especially if it involves paper and adhesive (and even a deadline!).  So I’m off to create an album in 25 days…

I know.  I know.  It’s November 30th and I’m just starting NOW.  Well, when I first signed on to the project, I picked my album base from my vast stash and even picked a pad of 6″x6″ paper to use so technically, I started about 2 months ago.  Today’s the day, no more procrastinating.  Here goes:

I’m using Little Yellow Bicycle’s 7″x6″ chipboard album with acrylic cover gift box-shaped album and Authentique Paper Company’s “Wonder” collection paper.  First, I chose paper for most of the pages and rounded out the 25 with clear transparencies and vellum.  I cut fancy edges with my corner rounders and edge punches then trimmed all the remaining square corners with my Corner Chomper.

I dug deep into my old office tool box and used an adjustable hole punch to match the holes for the spine rings.  Love those old office tools and supplies!  They don’t make ’em like they used to.

Next, I stacked all the pages and started making cutouts on pages that could then reveal a surprise on the next page.  A circle here, a star there.  Then, I cut some pages shorter to show off the edges on the next pages.  I added the rings to give it one final look-over and now I’m ready to start embellishing the pages.

Stashes are wonderful things.  So much better for me than a closet full of shoes!  Need red and green?  No problem.  Need sparkly?  No problem.  Ribbon, flowers, brads, plastic, glitter spray, ink???  Check!  This project is starting out to be more fun than I anticipated and I’m not even at Day One yet! 

Stay tuned for my next post to see how I’ve put all this together to begin creating something wonderful.

After all, it is that time of year.

About Wendy Amato Custom Designs

My creative inspiration comes at any time, anywhere. Once I get an idea, I am compelled to try it. No matter how late it is or how many other projects are on my list. Creativity does that to you! I'll try anything once and the good projects get a few more attempts. I like to find the beautiful, amazing and awe-inspiring in everything I experience and only hope to inspire others to look at the world around us with eyes wide open to the creative possibilities. You don't have to be perfect, just give it a try.
This entry was posted in Projects to try and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear your thoughts, please comment here.

